My body is [now] a temple

17 Apr


For how long, I’m not sure, but I’m hoping my new regime will last until at least after my ‘big birthday’ in May next year! So why the change? Well, as Buddha rightly said, “to keep the body in good health is a duty… otherwise we shall not be able to keep our mind strong and clear.” Hmm, yes, well, there’s that and also the fact that I’ve been completely rubbish at looking after myself physically lately. Annnnyyywwwaaayyyy…

I’ve just got back from an amazing trip to the Atlas Mountains near Marrakech (such a stunning place – click here to see my pics) – it was basically a week long retreat with in:spa holidays focusing on getting fit, healthy eating, and cutting out all those nasty things we pump in to our bodies like caffeine, alcohol and nicotine (well, I do anyway!). Each day consisted of either a hard-core hike or full-on circuit training, two yoga sessions, nutrition talks, personal training, sports massage etc etc.

Ok if you’re already fit, but a complete killer if you’re someone like me! Yep, had major problems walking for the 1st four days and even had to tackle going down all stairs backwards until about day 5!!

I’m over the moon as during the week, with the help of some wonderful trainers etc, I managed to completely remotivate myself to get fit again, change my eating habits and, the best of all, stop smoking!! I never thought I would manage that – fingers crossed I’ve quit for life and without piling on a load of weight at the same time!

It’s also really motivated me to properly train for the hike I’m doing along Hadrian’s Wall in June for Great Ormond Street Hospital. It’s a 25 mile trek along the central section of the wall and all proceeds raised will go towards the Challenge Event team’s commitment to fund a state-of-the-art cardiac theatre in the new heart and lung centre for children. And, of course, I’d love you to sponsor me – all pretty easy through http://justgiving.co.uk/abisignorelli.

So, it’s a big focus on health for me from now on – just hope I make sure I sustain that when I return to the big busy world of internal comms on Monday. I haven’t taken 2 weeks annual leave for a very long time – but, with a slightly smug feeling, new posture and my packed lunch, I’m hoping to take it all in my (slightly stronger and wider) stride!

One Response to “My body is [now] a temple”

  1. cld June 8, 2009 at 8:15 am #

    We are sell wow gold and wow power leveling wow gold

Leave a Reply

